Cut&Paste Design Tournament

Feature

April 1, 2010

As a part of Converse’s continued commitment to creativity, we partnered with the LIVE digital design tournament Cut&Paste as a global sponsor for 2010, and have again in 2011.

Cut&Paste is an international, on-site, real-time, design competition between artists, designers, illustrators, and creatives in the disciplines of 2D, 3D, and Motion Design. It’s like a DJ battle, but with art, animation, and design.

The 2010 motion design competition crowned Jake Guttormsson as the champion. Through our partnership with the competition organizers, and as a part of the grand prize, Converse commissioned Jake to produce a motion graphics piece highlighting both his immense talent and dedication to his craft. A big thank you to Jake, for letting us into his weird and wonderful brain with this amazing clip, which is a finished piece of art that also documents the process he took to get there.

We look forward to our continued partnership with Cut&Paste in 2011, helping them to inspire creativity around the world! Check out some of the other 2010 Motion Design Champs from a select group of the 16 tournament cities.

Info:
Cut&Paste

Comments (53)
  • Shiloh Dude!!! that's totally awesome! You would need like... idk 4 pairs of converse to get that all to fit!!! totally wicked dude Mon May 07, 2012
  • myazia that is like really live that was really awsome Wed Apr 11, 2012
  • Catherine i luved it! i designed like 49 converse and bought them all!! LUV CONVERSE!!! AWESOME VIDEO!!!!!! :D Sun Feb 12, 2012
  • lelonde wooooow! its amazing i love it! Thu Feb 09, 2012
  • Dana THIS VIDEO STUNK!!!!!! HE HAS NO CREATIVITY!!!!!! Wed Feb 08, 2012
  • kelly that was amazing...considering that i cant even draw a stick figure!! keep going for your dreams!!!!!!!! Mon Jan 30, 2012
  • CGTRBJ you are stopid Sun Jan 29, 2012
  • Lauren! that video was amazing!!! my question in,how do people live with all this creativity! enyway,i love converse!!! Sun Dec 11, 2011
  • JOEL Very unique. If I did it, those insects would talk in a funny voice or something.Anyway, it's tight. Thu Dec 08, 2011
  • Regina All I have to say is.....woah. Major skills right there, as an artist I am humbled. Wed Dec 07, 2011
  • Daniel I have always "luved" converse, even now, especially now, I like how you guys have more of the colors that I "luv", Bye Bye for now, danni Tue Nov 22, 2011
  • Mina Ja! Buenísimo!!!!! Mon Nov 21, 2011
  • kmii woOow!!! it's amazing!!! haha I love it!!! ♥ Sat Nov 12, 2011
  • Jose This was amazing... VERY creative... Thu Oct 27, 2011
  • 897147815 I love this feel Sun Oct 16, 2011
  • alexa i love them they r so kool Tue Oct 11, 2011
  • doodly do right Just when you're thinking it might be a little creepy, the flower eats the bee!! PERFECT!!! good job! Sat Oct 08, 2011
  • Stella This is like fricking awesome!!! I love this video keep this up! -Stella P.s.- I love Converse!!!! Wed Oct 05, 2011
  • Anonymous I don't get it. Sun Oct 02, 2011
  • Niamber OMg! That was so cool! Sat Sep 17, 2011
  • Lil Buzzz That was so cooooool!!! :) Fri Sep 02, 2011
  • James Green in my opinon this is a master piece, very good jod!! Tue Aug 23, 2011
  • xuan en pu so cool! Sun Aug 14, 2011
  • 邓齐驹 Good, creative Wed Aug 03, 2011
  • Cody wow that was pretty cool... Tue Aug 02, 2011
  • CrmenLz me encantan rodos :P Wed Jul 27, 2011
  • Kaylyn Well I love Converse but i am trying to custom make some Day of the dead ones for my moms birthday ! Mon Jul 25, 2011
  • SIYA Nice work Tue Jun 21, 2011
  • SIYA Nice stuff Tue Jun 21, 2011
  • Camauri I never think that art can be on shoes now i do and make my own shes.Check me out minds is crazy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:):):):):):):):) Sat Apr 30, 2011
  • rlidia36 i love the shoes man Wed Apr 13, 2011
  • sajjad hussain rashdi cooooooooooooooooool game Tue Apr 12, 2011
  • bung adam that think it's so coooool Tue Apr 12, 2011
  • Titi Whaooooh!!!! so reallyty awesome!!!!! Mon Apr 11, 2011
  • morena aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaazooooooooommmmbrozooooooooo Mon Apr 11, 2011
  • Azi Please please check my converse designs in facebook group call master of graffiti.. And let me know how is it.. Thank you.. :-) Mon Apr 11, 2011
  • shiylan cool stuff.. Mon Apr 11, 2011
  • Isha... that was realllly good...i wanna learn how to do that!!!! Mon Apr 11, 2011
  • Isha... this was really awesome...i wanna learn how to do it!! Mon Apr 11, 2011
  • ADRIANNECONS this is really awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwsome!!!! :D Sun Apr 10, 2011
  • Cut&Paste 2nd Digital Design Global Championship | CounterKicks [...] Design: Converse, the leading source for kicks and the the 2010 Cut&Paste Global Sponsor, will award the [...] Tue Apr 05, 2011
  • Dwayne Thompson I really enjoyed this video. I had to watch it three times! Wed Mar 30, 2011
  • Dwayne Thompson Great video! Wed Mar 30, 2011
  • Maria SENT TO DENMARK! it's SO cool, but i'm really angry because, i make a shoe and then, i can buy them, and i sent them to Denmark! Thu Mar 24, 2011
  • Damein THAts wass tight very creative i like that Thu Mar 17, 2011
  • emma thats so awesome and cool i wanna learn how to do that.... Wed Mar 16, 2011
  • DANA awesome Sun Mar 06, 2011
  • 黄凯 very good! Sat Oct 02, 2010
  • Fabiana that was just amazing u have to make a video on how u did that someday i definitley need to know how :) Wed Sep 29, 2010
  • awesomegirl107 COOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOL! Sun Sep 26, 2010
  • soccerlover AWESOME! :D Wed Sep 22, 2010
  • drielle this was so awsome i wonder how he did it Tue Aug 10, 2010
  • misty this guy got game! Tue Apr 13, 2010
Post a comment